Ben Gibbard of ‘Death Cab for Cutie has curated a Yoko Ono tribute album featuring his band, along with David Byrne, Japanese Breakfast, The Flaming Lips and more.   Titled Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono, the album — featuring 14 covers of Ono’s music — will be released on Feb. 18 (which coincides with Ono’s 89th birthday.   Sharon Van Etten, Yo La Tengo, Sudan Archives, Thao, US Girls, Jay Som, Stephin Merritt of Magnetic Fields, Deerhoof, We Are King and Amber Coffman will also be featured on the album.

Gibbard said in a statement: “It’s very important to me that people get a chance to really understand what Yoko’s music is all about. My hope for the people who hear this music for the first time is that their idea of Yoko Ono is completely flipped upside down. I’m also beyond grateful to all the artists who contributed songs to this project.”

Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono will also be accompanied by a podcast hosted by Gibbard and music journalist Jenny Eliscu. The podcast will discuss Ono’s music with artists that are featured on the album.  Additionally, a portion of the album’s proceeds will be donated to ‘WhyHunger’, a non-profit organization that Ono has supported that fights hunger and poverty.

Editorial credit: Ga Fullner /